Forever Under Construction

Appetite for false intelligence

Posted in War on Terror by homeyra on April 29, 2009

drawing_sin1

The Seven Deadly Sins: Gluttony
by Scott G. Brooks

Thanks RickB for posting Craig Murray’s Evidence on YouTube!: The entire appearance by former British Ambassador Craig Murray before the Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights.
An excerpt from video 5 – minute 6, emphasis are mine:

“I like to put this to you and I like you to consider this seriously. I was seeing intelligence in Uzbekistan, which I have told you, the purpose of it was to exaggerate the Islamic treat in central Asia, at the same time – and this is absolutely contemporary with the intelligence on Iraqi weapons of mass destruction was exaggerated back then, at the same time that waterboarding was happening in the US, which we know now was aimed partly, or largely aimed at persuading Al Qaeda to confess to a link with Iraq.
There was a vote for false intelligence. There was a vote for false intelligence, and the false intelligence built up the rationales of the war in Iraq and the rationales of the alliance with Uzbekistan […] I am arguing that the purpose of the complicity with torture was because, torture gives you intelligence which is false, torture does not give you the truth, and there was an appetite for false intelligence and this is the truth.”

Craig Murray’s blog

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 99 said, on April 30, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Yipes! You have such a strange fascination with this guy’s gross work! Gives me the shivers.

    But thank you so much for bringing up the Craig Murray testimony link. That rocks.

    xoxoxoxox

  2. homeyra said, on April 30, 2009 at 6:00 am

    :) :)
    I first came across Graig Murray during the “British sailors” episode. Then, during the usual mainstream media brouhaha, he gave some precision on the Iraq/Iran maritime boundaries.
    (though my favorite piece on that period is by Terry Jones – Monty Python) Since I have always kept an eye on him.
    I find Brooks’ paintings are so representative of our era! And I like his sens of humor:)

  3. 99 said, on April 30, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I stopped following his blog when he got into the younger woman thing. No patience for that noise, even though I admired his stance on the sailors thing. I think he single-handedly saved that from becoming completely outrageous, saved many lives. I am just giddy about this testimony and so have decided that he’s just a, baselessly, insecure old coot who just couldn’t pass up the babe… testosterone poisoning… and have given him back his claim on manhood for doing this transcendentally wonderful thing.

    But I’m probably not going to keep too close an eye on him because I don’t want him to disappoint me further…. :-P

  4. homeyra said, on May 1, 2009 at 8:48 am

    One feels more truth in comedians reporting than the professional ones.
    Although I wanted to, I didn’t follow his blog.
    It seems I didn’t loose much!

  5. choclosteve said, on May 1, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    It’s so much healthier to live with laughter instead of anger. I get my best news nowadays from Jon Stewart on the Daily Show. It was a long 8 years with the Bushits, and early on I decided I needed to laugh them out in order to keep my sanity, and in the end, I did, thanks to comedians

  6. homeyra said, on May 1, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Hi Steve, just went through you numerous choclo-blogs and Persian pomegranate soup :)
    Thanks for visiting.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

