Forever Under Construction

Caspian

Posted in Depression by homeyra on October 11, 2006

I am going to the seaside tomorrow. Normally I should be happy to take a vacation, but I am not, it is always sort of depressing for me to go there. Fortunately a couple of friends will join to make it more bearable.

When my father bought this land some 40 years ago, there was no electricity no water, no neighbors. He built a small house and we used to go there on every chance we got. My father spent his days gardening, my mother entertaining her guests, and my friend(s) and I would spend whole days on the beach, swimming, walking, collecting seashells, and making sand castles. You could walk with no interruption for kilometers along the shore. By night we would have dinner lit with kerosene lamps, have a last walk under the clear sky full of stars and go early to bed. The local population used to be friendly, and shopping for food or fresh fish was part of the fun. Nothing really exciting.

Now this neighborhood is full of expensive hotels or villas built in recent years. The local population considers each person coming from the capital city, a millionaire, to be used and abused in all possible ways. The sea is polluted and has advanced for some 70 meters during the last 25 years and has covered some of the beachfront: no more long walks. On the beach one must avoid walking on the syringes brought by the waves. I must look very eccentric to the neighbours, because I spend a few hours a day cleanning the beach. The restaurants are full of young people, with expensive outfits, mobile phones and cars. Villas have usually drawn curtains to hide the activities within.

Since we have got the electricity and “some” water, but still no phone, there’ll be no internet for a few days, which is fine with me.So if you are going to miss me J for the next few days, I can direct you to some more interesting sites such as:

The truth about the sword

What the Amish are teaching America  (and the rest of the world)

Uri Avnery

Have a nice week-end J

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AA said, on October 13, 2006 at 11:03 am

    I wish I could come with you.
    I miss the Caspian sea.

    Enjoy it!

  2. Alibaba said, on October 14, 2006 at 11:34 am

    Hope you have a nice weekend, nice to follow the adventures, perhaps some pictures?


Leave a Reply

