Forever Under Construction

See Me

Posted in Personal by homeyra on October 24, 2006

I had an email from an American friend who has been kind enough to linger around this blog. He was sharing his thoughts about what’s going on and thought I might have a better understanding of the other side of the story. Well, I don’t understand either side of the story to be honest. Anyway, somewhere between the email exchanges I recalled something from years before.

In my father’s office there was a cleaning person, Abdo’llah, who didn’t clean much of anything at all! I was fresh back from Canada, after 16 years of living abroad, full of efficiency 🙂 I called this guy and got very angry at him. He was illiterate and about 40 but looked at least 15 years older. He was silent thgoughout my “managerial” speech, then after a short silence he just said: “If you want me to look at you, you must also try to look at me.”

What he really meant was “look at me, not watch me”. I was a bit perplexed. Indeed there is such a gap between lives everywhere, here, contrasts are sharper, much more obvious, and more difficult to ignore.

Abdo’llah left us after a while and I heard that he passed away few years later from a heart attack. I didn’t know much about his life, this was all he asked, he addressed my “thoughtlessness“.

Leave a Reply

