Forever Under Construction

Double Life

Posted in Books, Iran, Islam, Jihad by homeyra on October 27, 2006

For the curious here is a review of Lisptick Jihad by Azadeh Moaveni which provides a glimpse at the contradictions of Iranian life.

[…..] Sandwiched between two violent ridden countries – Iraq and Afghanistan – the people of Iran live a schizophrenic existence. The women might be cloaked with black chadors but the hottest new shop was a fake Victoria’s Secret outlet selling silk negligees and lace underwear. The country might be officially an Islamic state but everybody cheat during the fasting season of Ramadan by secretly chomping off energy chocolates or discreetly smoking cigarettes. The patriotic people might breathlessly chant Death to America slogans in public rallies but throng to McDonald’s-type fast food joints rumored to procure their buns from American burger franchises in the Persian Gulf. The Muslims of this land might be expected to bow to west towards Mecca but its Yoga-minded citizens like to turn east for seeking refuge in Indian spiritual gurus. The country is no IT superpower but was ranked the world’s number three in the number of blogs in 2003.Iran is akin to a transvestite – a bearded man during the day and a powdered lady in the night […..]

Here is an interview with Azadeh
Here, her interview with the […unifying force amongst Iranians of all class…]

Update: A moving review by Karen and another one in California Literary Review.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kamangir said, on October 27, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    Do you know where I can read her blog, directly?

  2. homeyra said, on October 27, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    I have no knowledge about her blog, but I can ask and keep you informed. Thx for the visit:)

  3. homeyra said, on October 31, 2006 at 9:51 am

    For Kamangir, from A.M: 

    My blog appears every Thursday at http://www.time.com . It’s on the main page until Mon/Tues, and can always be found by searching for my name on the site.

    Thanks Azadeh for your visit!

  4. afriendtohumanity said, on November 1, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    I read the review of Lipstick Jihad. This is so eye-opening to me, particularly at the end where it mentions the negative influence that America’s declaration of Iran as part of the axis of evil had on the positive reforms that were occuring at the time. What is so disturbing to me is that I was completely oblivious to this.

    Americans as a whole tend to live in their peaceful bubble with little understanding of what is happening outside. I was watching something about a small city in Iraq and they asked this little boy if he was scared. The boy said yes and when asked what he was afraid of, he said he was afraid of America. It seems that even when there are good intentions, an incomplete understanding of what is truly happening under the surface can be harmful.

    I don’t think Americans, in general, have any real comprehension about the middle east and this scares me a little. I saw this thing on the Taliban and how it basically arose as a result of a cold war clash in Afghanistan between Russia and the US. I guess what scares me is that America goes on its way, perhaps acting a little too much on impulse, and in its wake stirs up negative sentiment in middle east countries that already don’t like us.

    I feel such an urgency for me to come to an understanding of what is really happening over there because I don’t think we in America have much of an understanding. I wish that I could do something.

  5. afriendtohumanity said, on November 1, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    By the way, I saw a link for an article posted on your site a couple of days ago that sounded interesting. I only read the title however. When I went back yesterday, I couldn’t find it. All I can remember is that (I think) I saw Tony Blair’s name next to it (?). Do you still have it posted somewhere? To be honest, I don’t remember what it was about. It just sounded interesting.

  6. homeyra said, on November 1, 2006 at 4:17 pm

    My dear Friend To Humanity, the story about that small boy is really moving. One can weep about that. None of us would like to have this image of our countries. I think this link (monday may 15, +comments) “might” sum up quite “objectively”, though sarcasticly- the story.
    I deleted the link you talked about, as I thought it might have been too “sensationalist” about a matter- that to be honest- I am not well informed about, you can find it here. Welcome again to the blogging world, I am sure you would enjoy and learn as much, or more, than I do.

  7. Month One « Forever Under Construction said, on November 11, 2006 at 12:52 am

    […] Few statictics: total hits: above 850. Tintin in Teheran was definitely “the” hot topic, followed by Double Life and Paris’Vlogs right below. Lesson number one: I shouldn’t write, I should link… and ping! […]

  8. […] 4th, 2007 · No Comments I just came across a moving review of Lipstick Jihad by Karen, Random Ramblings. She wonders how an American-Iranian (and I should add a successful […]


Leave a Reply

