Forever Under Construction

Month One

Posted in Personal by homeyra on November 4, 2006

In this speedy era, one month seems like a long time.

Faces and whole outlooks can transform; opinions/religions change, homes may move across the continents, spouses and sexualities may alter- or any combination thereof. Thousands have their 15 minutes of fame, the space station turns 480 times around the planet, a country is invaded, liberated – or both. My share was to become just another blogger on the web.

I started blogging by pure accident. I was fooling around on the net, I noticed a line at the bottom of the page:   Get a    …”F R E E”…   blog at WordPress.com , I clicked, and Voila! Thanks WordPress🙂

I got acquainted with the whole idea of a blog through Anousheh’s space blog.  Her serenity and dynamics pulled a trigger, made a change.

I am not a master of English – or any other- language for that matter :( Yep! I am at the mercy of my two forced-volunteer-editors Changiz, downstairs home and Rona in Alexandria. I lack the experience to communicate on such a regular basis but as the wise Bluebear said: …let if flow. I would advise anyone from my area of the globe to read about blogging manners. It might help.

Few statictics: total hits: above 850. Tintin in Teheran was definitely “the” hot topic, followed by Double Life and Paris’Vlogs right below. Lesson number one: I shouldn’t write, I should link… and ping!

I enjoy reading caustic and sarcastic writings as well as the wise and thoughtful posts of my dear Friend To Humanity, see for instance “Publish or Perish“. Beside the adjoining blogroll, the followings are some of my findings or- favorites in no particular order:

Wikipedia, wikipedia, wikipedia!

Wikipedia has a page about Iranian blogs, and it reports that “Persian is now the fourth most widely used language on web logs.” – seems it used to be the third. Here is “a case study of Iranian English Language weblogs”, and this is the directory of english blogs by Iranians.

On wordpress, Reclaiming Space is most informative, see The New Middle East.  Kamangir has an updated site about many Iranian events, from fashion to missiles,  Proggiemuslima also very informative.

Global Voice has a great amount of links. [under construction] !! is also about Iran and more. An american lady blogs in Farsi in I learn Farsi, , and in View From Iran another American blogs from Iran. Here are Ali Ettefagh‘s writings for the Washington post.

I found a very disturbing research, The Great Famine and Genocide in Persia, 1917-1919. A page of history that –ignorant me, had never heard about. If anyone knows more about this please do inform me!

I really enjoyed reading from A to Z the caustic verve and bravado of El Professor Victorino De La Vega Y Alcantara – found in Tltlkts‘ blogroll. He starts with a warning: “Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split…” Here you go🙂

I learned recently that Attack On Iran Would be Understood. What a relief.

Some goodies: Scott Adams,  Amusements by Andy Foulds And this thanks to A.A.

I will have to cool down for the next month, my clients are getting impatient!

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. joojeh said, on November 4, 2006 at 5:29 pm

    Happy Month One!
    I have not seen many weblogs but for me yours is like a favorite daily column in the newspaper.
    Thank you.

  2. kamangir said, on November 4, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    Such a long, and informative, post! I found “I Learn Persian” in your post and I enjoyed reading her blog. Thanks.

  3. homeyra said, on November 5, 2006 at 10:04 am

    Thx Joojeh! You are one smart reader!!🙂
    And hi K:) glad you found something useful here.

  4. peoplesgeography said, on November 5, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    Happy one month, Homeyra.

    Good to see wikipedia has dedicated an entry to Iranian blogs – thanks to your pointing it out, I’ll check it out.

    Best wishes on your blogging adventures😉

  5. Bluebear2 said, on November 6, 2006 at 2:03 am

    Happy happy Joy joy!

  6. homeyra said, on November 6, 2006 at 10:02 am

    Unfortunately on my poor connexion, I can’t have access to all the goodies of the web, but I trust you Bluebear, the link must have been great.
    And thank you MyGeography for dropping by. I wish I could take a month off and read all the information you have gathered on your blog.🙂

  7. Dr. V. said, on November 6, 2006 at 8:05 pm

    Hi there,
    I’m traveling abroad with no decent internet connection/no time to blog anyway…
    Read your comments on my latest post: thanks!
    Let me know return your compliment: I really like what I read here
    Keep up the good work
    Speak later,
    V

  8. peoplesgeography said, on November 7, 2006 at 7:33 am

    Know what you mean Homeyra. So much to read, so little time😉

  9. homeyra said, on November 8, 2006 at 7:42 pm

    Fot peoplesgeography: this might also interest you

  10. peoplesgeography said, on November 9, 2006 at 4:51 am

    Thanks very much, its an interesting read. I’ll post the article.

  11. homeyra said, on November 9, 2006 at 9:04 am

    For peoplesgeography: I couldn’t figure out how I could leave a message on you own post. Glad you found the above link of some interest.You are welcome to Iran anytime🙂
    I was surprised to find your post about Poetry. Indeed Persian poetry is monumental. These words of wisdom have something to do with whatever is left of our sanity – some would say “apathy” 🙂
    Btw, the first poem is by Ferdowsi, quoted by Saadi.
    Hearts with the light of love illumined well,
    Whether in mosque or synagogue they dwell,
    Have their names written in the Book of Love,
    Unvexed by hopes of heaven or fear of Hell
    .” Khayyam 11th century

  12. peoplesgeography said, on November 9, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    Thanks very much for that. I’ll have to amend it accordingly, but of course would like you to take credit for your input. I’m puzzled about why you couldn’t leave a comment, someone else said they also had problems. I’ll adjust my settings so its easier, hopefully by the time you’ve read this it will be fixed so feel free to come by whenever you have time.

  13. homeyra said, on November 11, 2006 at 10:28 am

    Do not worry about “the credit” part🙂
    The first verse of Saadi’s poem says something like: “How well said by the renowned Ferdowsi …”
    چه خوش گفت فردوسي نامدار don’t quote my translation🙂

  14. Month Two « Forever Under Construction said, on November 29, 2006 at 10:05 am

    […] The truth is that the introduction on Month One was not really representative… A “month” can be a lot of time in some parts of the world, but here, it’s like a day in terms of accomplishments. In one month if I am lucky, these can be my achievements: […]


Leave a Reply

