Forever Under Construction

Month Two

Posted in Personal by homeyra on November 29, 2006

The truth is that the introduction on Month One was not really representative… A “month” can be a lot of time in some parts of the world, but here, it’s like a day in terms of accomplishments. In one month if I am lucky, these can be my achievements:I got the plumber to repair that leaking sink, I have managed to meet a person about that emergency, I’ve found the medicines I needed and the like. The best thing that could have happened in one Month – or any period of time, is if you have been able to avoid all the usual calamities! You must think in terms of avoidance techniques to spend any day of your life 🙂

Having clarified this, I have now a Sister Site, I never had a sister – always wished to have one. It is not clear if I also have a Brother Site or not, hopefully PPGG will explain all that soon🙂

Top post of the month was Persian or Farsi mainly thanks to the Archer and Alireza’s links. Seems many were wondering about it. I found recently an article: “Farsi” or “Persian” for those who are still interested. Next, the total of all posts about Cyrus Kar followed by The Upside of Down and Persian Cinema – more advertisment?🙂

I highly encourage you, dear reader, to start a blog if you don’t have one. It is so easy to start and it broadens one’s world amazingly. Each can bring a lot to the others. I wonder why there are only few readers who comment. I asked a friend, she said she was too shy about it. Don’t be shy! Your feedbacks mean a lot, and I only “moderateNaj and the dear Professor 🙂

Here are few interesting reads in no particular order:

The top 25 Censored Stories, if you like conspiracy theories. The Afghan Pen and Farda Magazine, bilingual, Persian and English. Iranian student blogging from India. Acculturation Stress and Drug Use among Iranian Youth, a main problem over here. Teheran Avenue about all things Teheran-i!

Last but not the least: Captain Picard blogging from Enterprise and in case you wonder how you can de-motivate yourself, there is always despair.com

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. peoplesgeography said, on November 29, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Another interesting round-up – that Captain Picard site was an eye-opener, I thought I was a Star Trek fan, these people write their own Star Trek story blogs and themselves into the plot, goodness … Re the Sister Site idea, its still unfolding and hopefully we can collaborate more (maybe come up with a button or something) but I’ll see what Curtis and others say. In the meantime, I’m glad you are amenable to it and have responded in kind–thank you!

  2. kamangir said, on November 29, 2006 at 11:15 pm

    I am a frequent reader of your blog. And as we say in Persian “Chashm!” I will write comments from now on!🙂

  3. Naj said, on November 30, 2006 at 4:16 am

    :))
    You are cute Homeyra, and than;s for more Ad😉 No ad better than negative ad!

    I gave a talk about Soviet and Russian propaganda cinema just a few minutes ago. That’s why I have been absent today.

    I agree with you that this blog business is a great one. A friend of mine asked me to start one 6 years ago. I wish I had. Although he himself disappeared on me.

    I am happy to have discovered you.

    I should remember to pack my cloak.🙂

  4. homeyra said, on November 30, 2006 at 4:32 am

    My dear friends, blogging is great, is like having all the time a party with your friends … without the cooking and washing dishes part! I am happy to have discovered all of you🙂

  5. peoplesgeography said, on November 30, 2006 at 8:20 am

    Chashm!😉 Likewise delighted

  6. Bluebear2 said, on December 1, 2006 at 12:32 am

    Thanks for the link!

    It’s great to find blogs from people in other countries. I think it is an excellent way to find out what the people are all about. So far it seems there is very little difference in what people strive for. The big differences seem to be the perceptions of others that our governments try to impose upon us.

    Peace to all of the world’s people!

  7. peoplesgeography said, on December 1, 2006 at 10:30 am

    Absolutely, peace and صلح What a pleasure to have made your acquaintance BlueBear.

    Its great to travel the world, and if we can’t afford the time or money, we’re afforded the opportunity to virtually do so via the web and learn about the world’s fascinating diversity and richness.

    I was just thinking this morning, in light of previous observations on culture shock, has anyone ever experienced reverse culture shock?

    In 2002 I immersed myself in south Indian culture for some field work and it was a jolt coming back to Australia again with no auto rickshaws, colorful saris and far fewer brown skinned people – even with the poverty, wealth disparities and heat I think you can start to get withdrawal symptoms and love Australia as much as I do, it is a great experience traveling.

    I wonder if one would get that returning from a trip to Teheran – what, no manteaus and that amazing Iranian architecture?!

  8. homeyra said, on December 1, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    But still wacky socks!🙂 I am one of those who can- in theory- live anywhere in the world. It is sort of exotic to be in Iran too! So far I have had all reactions when leaving and coming back, often I hated to come back. But I know I am able to be bored and unhappy all over the world … age matters too… right now I consider myself lucky in a way. Could be much worse!


Leave a Reply

