Forever Under Construction

Political Correctness

Posted in Personal by homeyra on December 11, 2006

My dear online friend Bluebear2, from the land of the Great Satan – is this enough as an ice breaker? 🙂 – made a comment about his auto-censorship regarding a very innocent matter thinking that I might be offended.

If you have seen the Xmas in England post referring to Shirin‘s acute sense of observation and humor, you’ll get an idea of the ongoing distortion about “political correctness”.

As ordinary human being, we should agree to maintain some courtesy toward each other. I think life is more pleasant if we do so, though….

I hereby declare that I won’t be offended by any of your comments. I can take that much, and if I “moderate” any post, as I did before, it would be for totally impersonal reasons.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bluebear2 said, on December 12, 2006 at 1:47 am

    LOL Thanks homeyra, what a great laugh before I head home from work!

  2. Bluebear2 said, on December 12, 2006 at 1:51 am

    I saw something about there is now going to be all woman Taxis in Iran.
    Is this true?
    Please explain. I would like to hear the views of you and your countrymen/women/people/humans – oh hell – it just gets too confusing!

  3. homeyra said, on December 12, 2006 at 5:23 am

    Bluebear2, nothing is impossible!! but so far I have not heard of that one 🙂

  4. Bluebear2 said, on December 13, 2006 at 12:48 am

    I saw it here:

    Iran to launch women-only taxi company for Tehran

  5. peoplesgeography said, on December 13, 2006 at 2:26 am

    BlueBear, I saw that as well, and if so they’d be joining other operators around the world, as I hear places in Brazil and India may be considering same. Here’s a related link on India and I’m not sure about where I saw the Brazilian story but shall have a poke around my files. What is the world coming to, eh?

  6. peoplesgeography said, on December 13, 2006 at 2:48 am

    Yep, this phenomenon is starting to resemble a Ripley’s Believe It Or Not episode with mannerly standards fall far short of BlueBear’s example; both Brazil
    and urbane Tokyo apparently now have separate train carriages for women.

  7. homeyra said, on December 13, 2006 at 7:04 am

    I hadn’t seen this, you were right BB2.
    Tell me if I am wrong: the article title is: Iran to launch… and later: the first such a private sector firm… does that sound a little of”misdisinformation”? 🙂
    I don’t feel “offended” about this piece of news. To be honest I don’t care. If some prefer to use such a company, good for them.
    Thank you PPGG . It is interesting to know what is going on elsewhere.
    I understand that in “some” social conditions of “some” cultures women are more at ease with themselves, I think of “pardeh baghs”- women only parks- in poor quarter of Lahore, the girls seemed really at ease and undisturbed.

  8. Bluebear2 said, on December 13, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    It’s a shame that these woman should feel afraid or discomfort in the presence of a man.

    I’m sure the causes are many, ranging from cultural norms to personal experiences, but it’s a shame nevertheless.

  9. Bluebear2 said, on December 13, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    homeyra – the title “Iran to launch…” is what caught my eye and brought me to read the article.

    Had it said “Private firm to launch…” I would have been less likely to read it.

    Maybe not so much disinformation as catching a readers attention.

    I guess it depends on the viewer actually reading the article to get to the true situation. A person only reading headlines would in fact be disinformed.

  10. homeyra said, on December 13, 2006 at 8:41 pm

    I would think that a journalist with such a wide public should be able to convey the message and choose a non-distorting title, … maybe the title shows the writers own judgment… or carelessness…
    I understand your indignation from where you stand. In my opinion THIS particular case, is understandable within the context.

  11. Bluebear2 said, on December 14, 2006 at 12:20 am

    “…THIS particular case, is understandable within the context.”

    I agree with that statement. It is a shame that such a context exists, but at this point in time it is the reality.

    As we have talked of the internet opening up communications and understanding, perhaps in time things can change.

    I by no means wish to imply that it is the woman’s fault. The men should treat the women with respect and kindness such that they do not feel the need for such devices.

  12. homeyra said, on December 14, 2006 at 7:18 pm

    True BB2. The problem is that men themselves are victims of the some other process.
    For instance I had the chance to travel to Lahore, and to see a former Palace which was converted into a girls’ college, in the old city, a rather poor area.
    The contrast of the atmosphere within the walls of the college and the outsides was striking.
    In the college, these beautiful young girls, with their colorful dress were so motivated to learn and study. While the outdoors seemed like the battle zone of everyday survival…


Leave a Reply

