Forever Under Construction

The Tale Of Two Kiddies

Posted in Personal by homeyra on December 25, 2006

An interesting experience as a Juror has lead Shirin to write another delightful post. Here is an excerpt:

(23 dec) … It’s weird having two nationalities, especially if like in my case, your two nationalities are so different from each other. I guess it’s a bit like having two children that are very different. Say one is a bit of a retarded drug addict and the other is a model-looking genius. From what I’ve seen, if a mother has two kids like this, she will always pay more attention to the first one. She will take care of him more and maybe even love him more than the second one who she may end up ignoring or maybe even loathing. Well she figures the second one doesn’t need her really because he is great and everyone knows he’s great too so he will be fine. The first one however will probably only ever be loved by her.
This I think is similar in a way to the two nationalities that I have … Guess which is which child!
Anyway just like that mother, I have always sort of taken the side of my not-doing-so-well nationality … flag burning, holocaust denying, generally as politically incorrect as they come country and pooh-pooh my other nationality (which I’m not saying is without its faults) but … deep down I respect it immensely and love it really … read more

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ben Heine said, on December 26, 2006 at 10:53 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for sharing these personal information with us. I believe that having two nationalities is enriching and a great force against all kinds of xenophobia.

  2. homeyra said, on December 26, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    Hi Ben, I just edited the post and added a “Here is an excerpt”, as these are Shirin’s witty observations. Indeed, being able to look at life from different angles enriches, and somehow liberates … chances to be less “pharisaic” as would say Dr.V. 🙂
    Fortunately I can open your website and see your artworks. I am very impressed!


Leave a Reply

