Forever Under Construction

Old Add

Posted in Advertisement, Car, Iran, Things by homeyra on December 27, 2006

peykan47.JPG

Peykan 1968

See also Peykan by AA

One of my favourite automotive cast-offs has always been the Iranian Peykan. Built by Iran Khodro (formerly Iran National), this Hillman Hunter clone has been an Iranian mainstay since the late sixties, and it succinctly summed up what it was about second world nation cars … After all, the Hunter – nice as it was – was never going to set the world on fire, and yet – here we are – in 2005, and it is still for sale…” … excerpt from here.

Still, if I wanted to buy a car – I won’t – I rather buy an second hand Peykan than any of these new cars sold at least three times their worth over here.

09/05/01 Update:  Peykan is always shining! or Peykan hamisheh miderakhshad!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sadjad said, on December 27, 2006 at 2:54 pm

    خیلی جالب بود و غم انگیز!

  2. homeyra said, on December 27, 2006 at 3:47 pm

    مثل خيلي از داستانهاي ديگر ما! از اينكه سري به من زديد خيلي ممنونم . سايت شما خيلي جالب است و اطلاعات خيلي خواندني را گرد آوري كرده ايد. از راهنمايي شما در مورد آن داستان خيلي ممنون هستم. اگر احيانا خاطره مشابهي داشتيد خيلي خوشحال مي شوم كه از قول شما در اينجا نقل كنم
    Sadjad has a very interesting website, Harmony Talk, all you want to know about music.
    I came across his site while researching about the veracity of a story I’d heard some years ago. Via emails, he was kind to advise me.

  3. Bijan said, on December 28, 2006 at 3:46 am

    Homeyra: Thanks for such an interesting and informative site. I’ve picked up few new things too (i.e., Daray Dadvar, & etc.). Thank you. I have one favor to ask. What is your avatar? I can’t make it out!

  4. homeyra said, on December 28, 2006 at 5:15 am

    Hi Bijan, thanks for the compliment. Rochonf asked the same question about the avatar:
    It’s a picture of my cat Ahmad in sleepers! I see it clearly but seems no one else does.
    Maybe you could help me to figure out the problem:
    The square is about 13x13mm. As I see it the picture is about 9 mm width.
    Do you see it in the same size?

    Update: I have changed the avatar.

  5. joojeh said, on December 28, 2006 at 11:27 am

    I think at least part of the reason is that Homeyra has a big screen monitor and most others use notebooks with much smaller displays.
    It is not easy to make out, even for me — the photographer of the picture in question.

  6. peoplesgeography said, on December 28, 2006 at 8:03 pm

    Nice new avatar, and I too wondered what the previous one was. I’d squint at it from time to time and wonder, but you’ve now cleared it up that mystery. Perhaps we ought to have held a guessing competition?🙂

  7. Bluebear2 said, on December 28, 2006 at 8:08 pm

    It always looked like a Persian cat to me.
    Well, maybe an old shoe the very first time.

    I love to get a hold of old National Geographic magazines and look at the car ads there.

    The biggest shock is the prices!

  8. homeyra said, on December 29, 2006 at 6:04 am

    Let’s see if I can load the former avatar here. Nope. I’ll save that for another day!
    We all grew up among Peykans!
    According to various drivers, if well maintained, the older they are the better they are. I don’t understand much about its mechanism, and the older ones are hopefully more energy consuming than the new ones.
    I can only attest the superiority of the interior finishing of the old ones.


Leave a Reply

