Forever Under Construction

Untitled but Updated

Posted in Art, USA by homeyra on January 15, 2007

sgb_06_10.jpg

Christina Von Sparkle Owns the Part

© Scott G. Brooks

Update 1: I like so much this Christina that I don’t want to let her go down the page. I won’t have much time in the next few days to write, though I’ll be checking the comments and if I want to add a few line I’ll do it here.

Thank you PPGG for your post about Enough Fear. Thanks to anyone who participates to this petition, whatever its result. Thanks to Servant Savant to hold the banner!

On a more cheerfull note thank you neufneuf for this great link! this is way toooo funny 🙂 and you have a great blog.

Update 2: Thank you Proggiemulima for you post about Enough Fear.

Another interesting blog I like to read is All about Germany, last post: American vs German business culture.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loopy said, on January 15, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Hey…
    here’s an inspiring story that i thought you’d be interested in…

    http://www.radio-canada.ca/nouvelles/International/2007/01/15/004-iran-miss-canada.shtml

  2. homeyra said, on January 16, 2007 at 2:55 am

    Merci Loopy!
    I have been following the story. It seems NAJ is organizing a follow up for the future of NF.
    Vive Miss Canada 🙂

  3. servant said, on January 16, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    Je ne lis pas des Français, mais cette femme est oh la la!

    Hello Homeyra. Kilroy was here.

  4. homeyra said, on January 16, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Canadians have good taste Serv 🙂
    I am happy to join the Kilroy club!

  5. ggwfung said, on January 17, 2007 at 7:33 am

    there’s just something wrong about this image

    🙂

    ggw

  6. homeyra said, on January 17, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Hi gg, I see it as an angel, or a little girl, or a wanna be an angel, or a little girl who does not even know about angels… or an angel thinking she is just a little girl… “caught in interesting times”! as the Chinese would say when they want to curse someone:)

  7. saa said, on January 17, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Nice picture, infact a very deep one, I see it as a little girl who deserves to be accepted by society, though born in poor family, and rejected as being born as a female child… She is still innocent and cute, and a beautiful angel, which an eye of humanity and Justice or true love can only see.

  8. homeyra said, on January 17, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Saa: thanks for your thoughtful comment and visit.

  9. servant said, on January 17, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    at the risk of my masculine identity in commenting on anything dealing with the deeply feminine – i venture forth.

    the juxtaposition of two deeply felt emotions – a total commitment to spiritual identity and the real pains of growth and becoming which accompany the search. at first I thought the look of disappointment was related to social realities as saa suggests, but those elements have to be added from the viewer’s imagination.

    This is the place where we all end up when we realize that we have magical qualities inside us but that the world outside seems to resist things magical. perhaps a fairy princess who is sad because no one wishes anymore.

    wishes do come true, but sometimes we have to work very hard to understand what we have been granted.

  10. homeyra said, on January 17, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Dear Savant, well said. This is a fun exercise … previously I had some interesting exchange with PPGG about another artwork.
    Christina is standing up there, and we, like… perhaps worshipers, are trying to hear her message and through her message find ourselves or confess our deep aspirations.
    Thank you to take part … and “Christina Owns the Part” 🙂

  11. Alibaba said, on January 17, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    When you start a blog that others read every day, there is no such thing that a vacation or not enough time!!! You see, the readers own! part of the blog ( much more forceful than addicted)
    So, see you soon

  12. homeyrab said, on January 17, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Ok ok Alibaba. This seemed a good alibi to keep Christina on top! 🙂
    Another observation about this drawing: Graffiti are usually about the F word or the like.
    Here, “Fairy Princess” is used as it was the ultimate curse!

  13. naj said, on January 18, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    hi there,

    Google doesn’t let me login to my blog! X(

    I’m back and swamped already. More later, once I have figured out how to run my blog again! grmble 🙂

  14. homeyra said, on January 18, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Hellooo! glad to see you back! I have a solution: start a blog at wordpress 🙂

  15. Pedestrian said, on May 1, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I just randomly came across this page in your blog … I LOVE Brooks’ work and it was great seeing it here.

    I know they are two very, very different artists, but somehow, Brooks reminds me of
    Peter de Seve (also one of my favorite artists, I always yelp with joy when he does a New Yorker cover).

    Maybe its the attention both give to the face … I donna …

    This week the New Yorker did Sempe for their cover … That’s always wonderful too. I LOVE him. His cartoons actually move! What I especially love are his cartoons for “Little Nicolas” which I’ve read over in over. They are not known in North America, but they are just fabulous ……………………..

  16. homeyra said, on May 1, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    They are really different, but they both have a sort of irony.
    I didn’t know de Seve, I liked what I saw in a quick look, more for later. Thanks for introducing him.


Leave a Reply

