Forever Under Construction

Balatarin

Posted in Activism, Blogosphere, Iran by homeyra on January 27, 2007

228556_1968443_1_big.jpg

Persian readers, this is really addictive:

Balatarin, the highest … a community website which helps its users to find the best links on the Internet that interest Iranian Internet users around the world.

Registered users can post links to interesting articles … to the recently posted page. Once a link gets enough positive votes, it is moved to the top of the front page … Users can bookmark the links … have a profile page …

228556_1968440_3_big.jpg … a completely unique non-conventional credibility system … Each user has a credibility that increases over time based on the activities and contributions of the user … which … in turns determines the amount of allowed activity … a tag cloud shows the level of interest of users in a specific subject....

228556_1968446_1_big.jpg

228556_1965896_1_big.jpg

Launched on August 16, 2006, … continually being improved… currently 4801 registered users … 17500 links.

Balatarine page in wikipedia

Up!date 07/06/02: Balatarin is blocked 😦 …. Petition for balatarin

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. naj said, on January 28, 2007 at 6:19 am

    I don’t know why, but T-shirts and mugs turn me off so quickly, if associated with anything I am invited to explore!

  2. homeyra said, on January 28, 2007 at 6:20 am

    lol! Good point! 🙂

  3. pen Name said, on January 28, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    naj:

    It is because T-Shirts and Mugs are very middle-class.

    They are common place objects of a common-place and mundane life.

    Drafsh-e Kavian they are not – thus they inspire commonality – not grandeur.

  4. homeyra said, on January 28, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    Imho Naj’s comment was more subtle.
    Who wrote “grandeur, miserable hidden lies!!” ?

  5. pen Name said, on January 28, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Homeyra:

    I do not know the answer to your question.

    If you comprehend Naj’s subtelty, please take the trouble of explaining it.

  6. homeyra said, on January 28, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    Still imvho: She’s got humor / I don’t think N positions herself regarding class considerations. But that’s just my perception 🙂

  7. iranfacts said, on January 28, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    Oh allow me to explain myself 🙂

    well my distrust of T-shirts and mugs relates to my mistrust of “making and wearing” logos and the marketing strategies behind them.

    I have to stress that I am against “brandism”, and against institutionalization of grassroot movements. I am also against megalomanic ideas of grandeur, heorism, and etc.

    Now, if someone likes to express themselves, or their solidarity with any movement, by wearing their logo, that is their choice and when I see them in that clothing, I will know that they belong to a certain group of likeminded people operating under a certain manifesto and etc. Yet I will have a little less regards for their independence, and if I have something more pressing or interesting to do, I will not take the time to prove myself wrong, by exploring their individuality.

  8. homeyra said, on January 28, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Why are you so smart NaJ? to give me complexes?
    🙂

  9. pen Name said, on January 28, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    iranfacts:

    Grandeur and heroism are not megalomanical ideas.

    They exist in humble settings as well as lofty ones.

  10. naj said, on January 29, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Pen, read carefully: “megalomanic ideas of grandeur and heroism”!

    Snappy heh?

    Homie, don’t pull my poor cripled leg! 🙂

  11. pen Name said, on January 29, 2007 at 4:17 am

    Naj:

    I stand corrected.


Leave a Reply

