Forever Under Construction

Monika …

Posted in Iran, Music, USA by homeyra on February 14, 2007

… & wonderful NoorSaaz

Happy Anniversary S & Alibaba,
I guess this is more appropriate than the previous post 🙂
… سلطان قلبم تو هستي توهستي …

See and hear more at the Trinity Church St Paul’s Chapel
.

Monika Jalili is a classically trained soprano vocalist born in New York City … Monika is a multi-lingual performer, fluent in French and with a love for Persian music and culture. Monika is currently devoting the bulk of her time to bringing the beautiful songs of Iran to as many people as possible with her group NoorSaaz.” … Monika’s homepage

jalili.jpg

Photo from Rozaneh

“Born in New York City, Monika Jalili is a fresh addition to the world music scene. Having married an Iranian, this (Dutch & German) New Yorker was immersed in Persian music, and eventually decided to take her passion seriously … from an interview in Persian Mirror

I just watched a DVD of her concert at the Trinity Church, she is lovely, just delightful!

monika-jalili.jpg…. if “they” give us Monika…. I’ll give “them” …. 🙂
An Axis of Joy, Remembrance of things past, Payvand. Other articles
Megan Weeder
Timothy Quigley
Mavrothis Kontanis
Nathan Dillon

Update:  Dec 2007 Monika Jalili + updated links to youtube

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. iranfacts said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Great find!

    (oh by the way, I forgot to tell you how much I enjoyed the CD you gave me; thanks a lot)

  2. homeyra said, on February 14, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    She is just lovely, just watched the CD again while having diner.
    You’s most welc Naj! glad you liked it.
    PS: after some thought: If they give us Monika… I’ll give them….

  3. Bluebear2 said, on February 14, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    Beautiful music with which to wish you Happy Valentines Day.

  4. homeyra said, on February 14, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    Thank you BB2&2u2!

  5. Monte said, on February 15, 2007 at 5:15 am

    Wow – how beautiful! Music was my first career, before I began doing what I do now – I was (am) a string bass player – and this was delightful.

  6. homeyra said, on February 15, 2007 at 9:31 am

    It seems that many of the visitors here have something to do with music!
    Glad you liked it Monte 🙂

  7. naj said, on February 16, 2007 at 2:05 am

    Oh this is CUTE! :))

    Love the accent!

    (I read all the stuff but didn’t hear all the stuff!)

  8. Bijan said, on February 16, 2007 at 7:24 am

    I just wanted to thank you about this superb post. I was mesmerized by her presence and her voice and choice of songs. Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention. First thing I did, was to order the CD. I don’t easily get emotional about things, but this post and listening to her voice prompted a deep longing of home in me. I’m not gonna tell you if I had tears in my eyes or not.

  9. homeyra said, on February 16, 2007 at 7:55 am

    … and someone wrote above that he didn’t have anything to do with poetry 🙂
    I don’t know if you are a fan of Asterix, but as they used to say to Obelix: Tu es tombé dedans quand tu etais petit!
    You had fallen in it when you were small! you just don’t remember.
    Dear Bijan thank you for your kind words. I am also happy to have found her. The fact that her repertoire consists of all those songs of the 60/70s makes her really special.
    The ensemble is really good. This rich background, who keeps the beat in an elaborate yet smooth fashion…

  10. Alibaba said, on February 16, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Salam,

    Have been away from Internet for a few days, Just found your anniversary post, Thanks for remembering.

  11. homeyra said, on February 16, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    You’re welcome Alibaba. shhh did you remember yourself ? 🙂
    I think of C & A!!

  12. Bijan said, on February 17, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Thanks again Homeyra. My favorite comics used to be Andy Capp & Hagar the Horrible, and now is Dilbert and Doonsebury. btw, I do own a Divaneh Hafzz, but could really use help when it comes to reading. I just look at the picutres… 🙂

  13. peoplesgeography said, on February 18, 2007 at 2:34 am

    Delightful, Homeyra! What a musical treat. Apologies, I’m a bit behind in posts, but am enjoying catching up.

  14. homeyra said, on February 18, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Thank you PPGG 🙂
    I can “feel” that you are very busy … somewhere!

  15. Bijan said, on March 3, 2007 at 12:10 am

    I got the CR a few days ago and ordered the DVD also. I love the accent too 🙂

  16. homeyra said, on March 3, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    I see “ke moshtari shodi”! 🙂


Leave a Reply

