Forever Under Construction

My Turn

Posted in Personal by homeyra on February 18, 2007

Shirin & Muslimah asked me, a long while ago, to join two different online-tagging-games. I am merging the two:

joojoo.JPG

1 – More than often, I am far behind the headlines: Years ago when I asked Alibaba “who is Lady Diana?” he told me that I was most probably the only person on earth, with a TV set, without that knowledge. Right now Britney Spears’ name is all over the net, I don’t know yet what she looks like or what is she famous for.

2 – I have learned Persian cooking from my … brother: When he saw me eating and serving him cornflakes seven days a week, he decided to do something about. Remember these Alibaba?

3- When I was a student, Casanova di Fellini was on screen, and a year later Jesus of Nazareth. I thought Nazareth was the director.

4- I can sleep almost everywhere, in most uncomfortable positions or places, any time of the day. I have even answered phone calls … sleeping.

5- I have an acute administration-phobia. Anything “official” is a nightmare, just give me a form to fill and you’ll see how incompetent I’ll be.

Muslimah, I am usually the one who is laughed at! Any volunteer? PPGG, 99, BB2, Naj, Dr.V…. perhaps? 🙂

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. peoplesgeography said, on February 18, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    🙂 Fantastic. #3 is my favourite. #1 is a badge of honour, methinks. I’d love to be able to respond to a celebrity’s name and in all honesty respond, “who?”

    Just 5 eccentricities and/ or foibles? I’m sure I have more than that to choose from. Shall have a think about it and come back.

  2. peoplesgeography said, on February 18, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    1. I do not drive —- by choice. My public transport advocacy is strong and I can not live in or respect a city or urban centre that does not have a half-way decent mass transit system (oops, this is supposed to be personal and here I am making a political statement, my apologies!) 😉

    2. My childhood ambition was to to become an astronaut. It still stands. Perhaps I can yet be inspired by the first Iranian-born space tourist, Anousheh Ansari?

    3. Sleep habits—I’m the opposite. I admire your ability to sleep anywhere. For me a modicum of comfort and utmost privacy is essential. I don’t even like falling asleep in front of family and friends! Notwithstanding the presence of a partner, I have to fall asleep with complete privacy.

    4. I have never ever been drunk. I have a beer very occasionally, wine and champagne too, but it takes me ages to nurse a single glass. I’m the proverbial sipper!

    5. Calligraphy, illuminated manuscripts and old maps (and Church Latin) can on occasion move me to be awe-struck and inexplicably deeply moved.

    Mistakes and foibles: too many to mention! 😉

    5.

  3. homeyra said, on February 18, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    ٌWow that was fast! Thank you PpGg 🙂
    I share #1: I have quited cars.
    Also #5. Btw do you know strangemaps ?
    The worst is #4 🙂

  4. naj said, on February 18, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    :)) what’s this game? Oh I have no eccentricities, I am a very plain and boring girl 🙂

  5. homeyra said, on February 18, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    … and that’s the mother of all eccentricities!! noted Naj:)

  6. naj said, on February 18, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Homie, I should admit the director Nazareth was the peak of my fun this weekend. (took a dip when that STUPID Tony Snow kept repeating his PACK OF LIES about the Iranian weapons on meet the press. These people are SO shameless that even when their journalists are confronting them with their lies, they still say: no we were right!!!!)

    But seriously tell me what this tagging game is, like all boring and plain girls I love playing games 😉

  7. homeyra said, on February 18, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Very easy: You have to write down in public! 5 personal things, can be private/eccentricities, in fact anything to amuse the readers!!
    Normally you should write it in your own blog and tag 5 more person to continue…. Do as you prefer.

  8. naj said, on February 18, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    bwah! No one reads my blog! and because I am an exhibitionist, I prefer to boast about my plain boring eccentiricities to a large readership 😉

    1. I act shy
    2. I can never follow a recipe and make the same food twice
    3. I love the Brit comedy “As Time Goes By”
    4. I think I will die next year, because I think I look like Forugh (I made myself laugh)
    5. I am a spoiled brat

  9. homeyra said, on February 18, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    I agree with 4, not that you’ll die next year but about the resemblance.
    Allez, Naj, I absolve you! Amen 🙂 – I hope Monte won’t read this.

  10. naj said, on February 19, 2007 at 12:47 am

    speaking of resemblance, you haven’t changed a bit since you were … uhm, 2? 😉
    There is a link in my blog with GORY pictures. I am going to go and be depressed now for the rest of the evening!

  11. afriendtohumanity said, on February 19, 2007 at 6:13 am

    About #1, PPGG is right. This is more of a badge of honor. I don’t think that knowing who Britney Spears is could add anything substantial or meaningful to your life.

    About #5, I’m right there with you. I have often thought what a hopeless case I would be if I did not have my wife to help me. School loans? Insurance? Opening bank accounts? Paying bills? Budgets? The only things I am good for are going to school and helping with the kids at home. She’s definitely the CEO of the household.

  12. homeyra said, on February 19, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    Then my friend You are a happy man. So much unnecessary debates avoided about who is the CEO 🙂

  13. Bijan said, on February 20, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Well, let me tell you about Britney Spears. You couldn’t confuse her with Sinead O’Conner, until last week when she went and gave herself a bald hair cut. She is also famous for being needy and an irresponsible parent. She once gave Madonna a French kiss in front of the whole world. And don’t worry, unless you are a teenage or had teenage kids, you really didn’t have any reason for knowing her. She got her first break as a member of Mickey Mouse Club, TV show, in the early 1990’s. … (fast forward) then she became a singer and made a lot of money. …then she married once and got a divorce 24 hours later and then (fast forward) she married on of her dancers. The guy is not suing her for alimony, after two kids, in the last couple of years with him. Here is a good place for more info on her: Oops I did it again! if you care to know more.

  14. homeyra said, on February 20, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Wow, all that seems like a lot of fun I have been missing!!
    Thank you Bijan 🙂
    Long article about her on Wiki, I’ll save the link … for later!

  15. honestpoet said, on February 20, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    I wouldn’t waste any neurons learning about her, Homeyra. Suffice to say this: she’s the epitome of the toxified, objectified American girl, and she’s been making a killing spreading her sickness.

  16. homeyra said, on February 21, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    🙂
    I saved it where there are already a few hundreds of things to read!! …

  17. homeyra said, on February 23, 2007 at 11:43 am

    … and I read finally about Britney, here

  18. honestpoet said, on February 23, 2007 at 8:57 pm

    I love the article…but what does it have to do with Britney?

  19. homeyra said, on February 23, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    oops! sorry, this was the wrong link, corrected now.


Leave a Reply

