Forever Under Construction

Abjeez

Posted in Iran, Iranians, Music, Pop by homeyra on April 20, 2007

abjeez.jpg

Meet the Abjeezslang for sisters.

Thanks Sophia for forwarding the link in the first place. Here is a video: ‘Eddeeaa‘, pretension. Late night music with wacky Iranian girls!

Video at youtube or at Abjeez homepage

 

Pretension, pretension, god I’ve had enough, too much pretension
Enough already, too much pretension
Nervous contacts, squabble and altercation
Enough already, too much pretension

Excessive amity, improper intrusions
Peculiar affections,

Natural favors – excessive expectations
Assorted bizarre sacrifices, huge but strained services

Pretension, pretension, god I’ve had enough, too much pretension …
Enough already, too much pretension
Nervous contacts, squabble and altercation
Enough already, too much pretension
Gratuitous pontifications, sharp but reckless decisions [ … ]

Sage for a day, absolute Moslem the day after
Zoroastrian fervor … No faith and conviction the next

In accord with strangers
But with kin: litigant, stern and strict

More Iranian pop music: Kiosk, dailinessO-hum singing Hafez

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 99 said, on April 21, 2007 at 9:31 am

    I wonder what in the heck they’re singing…. Cute video. 😛

  2. homeyra said, on April 21, 2007 at 9:33 am

    🙂 I’ll add a translation of the lyrics later today!

  3. Servant said, on April 21, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Jeebus. I wasn’t afraid of feminism before, but now I’m absolutely terrified. If the unibrow is making a come back that’s going to put me off the movement entirely. Body hair is so … comment dire ? …. French!

    I’d vote for lipstick on the sisters in black though. As long as their still going to be sex after the revolution, I’m generally down with the principles of feminism. And I really don’t mind the idea of emasculation in many cases. I just don’t want to be there when it happens.

  4. homeyra said, on April 21, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    🙂 Don’t be afraid Serv! the unibrow and the outfits are reference to the last centuries dress codes, fashion and paintings! It isn’t a come back! rather archeology 🙂

  5. Bookstamper said, on April 21, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Sorry to get back to you late, look like you got it working! Good day.

    Thx bookstamper
    🙂

  6. Servant said, on April 21, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks for helping with my edumacation, Homey. You know it ain’t easy here in the home of the slave – er uhm brave – what with uni rates being what they are.

    😛

  7. homeyra said, on April 22, 2007 at 6:07 am

    🙂 hehe, although it is not always obvious to distinguish when you are pulling my leg and when you are not, I realize that I should often explain more about the “backgrounds”. How can you know?

  8. Bluebear2 said, on April 25, 2007 at 3:42 am

    It took me a while to get here, but I love it and have hung it on the wall at my lair as well.

  9. homeyra said, on April 25, 2007 at 6:47 am

    As long as anything is wacky! It’s good for me 🙂

  10. Bluebear2 said, on April 26, 2007 at 12:07 am

    I’ll add a translation of the lyrics later today!

    I’m still looking for it!

  11. homeyra said, on April 26, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    🙂 Here it is BB2, it was sort of a difficult text for me to translate, and my “editor” first refused to translate that “non-sense”!

  12. Bluebear2 said, on April 27, 2007 at 12:46 am

    Thanks Homeyra

    From the comment I left you at the Lair:

    To my readers:

    Zoroastrian: a Persian religion founded in the sixth century B.C. by the prophet Zoroaster, promulgated in the Avesta [sacred writings of Zoroastrianism], and characterized by worship of a supreme god Ahura Mazda [deity of goodness and light] who requires good deeds for help in his cosmic struggle against the evil spirit Ahriman [spirit of darkness and evil].

    Fundamentally not much different than modern religions.

    So why can’t we all just get along regardless of what names we give our gods and devils?

    I must be thinking too simplistically or something.

  13. Bluebear2 said, on April 27, 2007 at 12:48 am

    I know what you mean about the translators. I used Babelfish one time to translate German to English. While the words were well translated, the sentence structure was all screwed up. It made for some hilarious reading.

  14. homeyra said, on April 27, 2007 at 3:52 am

    Thanks for the info BB2. There is also a previous post with more about the subject.
    This is a difficult text to translate, as in Persian, it is sort of a fluid text but in English it sounds rather constraint. But it’ll give an idea about all the noise of the wacky Iranians! 🙂

  15. DemoKracy « Forever Under Construction said, on December 2, 2007 at 6:16 am

    […] Previous post: Abjeez […]

  16. […] Previous posts: DemoKracy, Abjeez […]


Leave a Reply

