Forever Under Construction

Cuts & Pastes

Posted in Books, Iran, Travel by homeyra on May 17, 2007

“…When I told my friends and family I was going to Tehran, they looked at me as if I were taking a short break in Mordor, and expected that the next time they saw me I would be being paraded by Revolutionary Guards after confessing to espionage, and then publicly hanged from a large crane at a busy traffic intersection…” Daily Mail, Peter Hitchens, April 2007

“… Indeed violence seems pretty absent from Iranian society. In our whole two weeks there, we only once heard two people fighting …” Jez Humble, April 2007

“..It was rather surprising for us to note the love of poetry and the affection with which poets from previous centuries are still regarded today. There were often fresh flowers on the shrines we visited and young people standing respectfully nearby…Kathy and David, March 2007

“I traveled to Iran to lead an exchange of American higher education officials — a project of Search for Common Ground, an international non-governmental conflict resolution organization…” Venturing into Iran: Beyond the warning, Rebecca Larson, 2005

““Where are you from?” a young man outside one of the many carpet stalls asked me. … Sigh. “The U.S.,” I replied …” My Journey to Iran, Janet Larsen, Sept 2005

“I didn’t expect to be standing here, by these graves, tears rolling down my face. But then, I didn’t expect a lot of things when I came to Iran… I didn’t expect to give chocolate to an ayatollah, or to watch a young Iranian-American woman launch herself into the arms of an uncle she’d never met. Most of all: I did not expect joy.” Axis of evil meets Great Satan, lots of smiles ensue, Judy Carlock, Feb 2004

“The goodbye of Iran was a border officer who wanted a bribe of US$20 for opening the gate to Turkey. Of course, we offered him only some nasty words, but this last incident was the climax of just too many similar incidents in Iran… We were very happy to enter Turkey!…” Photography by Erwin Voogt, 2004

“… One thing we couldn’t work out was the logistics of ‘taking off the crash helmet and putting on a head covering without exposing your hair’…” Iran: A Storm Brewing, Simon McCarthy & Georgie Simmonds, Dec 2003

bad-lands.jpgRelevant Links:
Travellerspoint: Guide, Iran Blog Entries
VolunTourism
Educational Travel Community
American Museum of Natural History scientific expeditions
Global Exchange: How to be a socially conscious traveler?
Distant Horizons: cultural tours with guest scholars
Diary, 2004
Days in Iran for sale: Immaterial Art

Good Times in Bad Lands

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. naj said, on May 18, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    :))
    We were on the same wavelength! spooky, heh?

  2. homeyra said, on May 19, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Les grands esprits … 🙂

  3. Servant said, on May 19, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Delightful post, Homeyra. Thank you!

    I’m preparing for the day they reopen the Den of Spies. I want to be the first American in line for the tour after they cut the ribbon. I’m going haul you in there and we’re going to dance like the best of friends. By then bygones will be bygones and we can say we were friends before it was cool!

    It will happen. I just hope I’m still alive to see it!

    We used to say, “Lord willing and the creek don’t rise.”

  4. musicalchef said, on May 20, 2007 at 12:43 am

    I sure hope i get to go someday, and i really hope Bush doesn’t screw anything up there!

  5. homeyra said, on May 20, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Thanks Serv, and we will sure need a musiclachef to brighten the day 🙂

  6. Two-Up « Forever Under Construction said, on November 12, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    […] Relevant post: Cuts & pastes […]


Leave a Reply

