Forever Under Construction

In That Fair World

Posted in Poetry by homeyra on November 24, 2007

May I be allowed,
to behold the hue of that fresh blossom
as I stand at the base of this wall?

And, through this bloody, thorny fence,
this barbed wire,
may I drink a sip of spring water?

May I be allowed Outside, In Front of the Door?
And to regain my strength,
rest by this tree, may I?

Or, must I pass through this road,
a stranger, now and always,
swallow centuries of “You May Not”,
like a dagger piercing my patient throat?

In the shadowland of this vast cerulean tent,
it would have been fair,
if trees, land, water or sunshine,
did not belong to anyone!
Or, better yet,
belonged to all. […]

fm1.jpg

Fereydoon Moshiri
1926-2000
his voice

Translated by Faranak Moshiri
Fereydoon Moshiri at 99

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 99 said, on November 25, 2007 at 4:56 am

    THAT’S GORGEOUS!

    I’ve listened four times and I don’t want to stop… even though I haven’t the first part of a clue what he was saying.

    oh ya-oh dam ho

  2. homeyra said, on November 25, 2007 at 7:56 am

    🙂 I’ll email you my own translation.

  3. Pedestrian said, on November 25, 2007 at 4:01 pm

    Wow! Freydoun Moshiri!

    The last of the great Persian poets …

    Thanks for the post!

    I’m a she by the way!

  4. homeyra said, on November 25, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    Thanks and welcome Pedestrian.
    I will correct🙂

  5. Delkash « Forever Under Construction said, on September 4, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    […] concerts and to buy his album, … link to the article / listen to Put down your gun, words by Fereydoon Moshiri leave a comment « […]


Leave a Reply

