Forever Under Construction

Niyaz

Posted in World music by homeyra on February 16, 2008
5155qx7yrpl_aa240_.jpg

Thank you Servant for stumbling upon Niyaz 🙂

Niyaz—Persian and Urdu for yearning—is the musical brainchild of three musicians:
Azam Ali, best known as the vocalist of the group Vas ( her blog: In the flux of things)
Loga Ramin Torkian, the multi-instumentalist and composer of the acclaimed group Axiom Of Choice
Carmen Rizzo, a two time Grammy Award nominee programmer/producer and remixer. (Cirque du Soleil, etc. You can listen here***)

Niyaz is a mixture of old and new music styles. Their lyrics are drawn from Sufi mystics, such as the Persian poet Rumi, and other classic poetry sung in Urdu.
You can listen or watch videos on Niyaz website, here is a link to a youtube movie – thanks Ann :), samples at Amazon and Niyaz at MySpace

و از سايت خوب نقطه ته خط: گلچين و معرفي چند ترانه متفاوت فارسي با تشكر از روبو

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ann El Khoury said, on February 16, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Just beautiful. I love the haunting, elegant, evocative beauty of ‘In the Shadow of Life’ track featured when you go to their website. I’m endeavouring to locate an .mp3; meanwhile, its also available on youtube, someone has set it to a video clip. Wonderful stuff.

  2. homeyra said, on February 16, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Thanks Ann for the youtube link, will add it.
    Had you seen a previous linkto Mamak Khadem and the Axiom of choice. I am sure you’ll like them.
    Torkian says: “The path to defining one’s music is never straight. I reflect upon the day I left my flamenco guitar teacher – disheartened by his truthful comment that after practicing for years, the only way to bring myself to professional standard would be to move to Spain, otherwise my playing would always have an accent. I knew I could not leave the United States for years to come and I felt I had reached an end. I did not realize then that I was about to discover something very unique within myself.

  3. ressentiment said, on February 16, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks for shining your spotlight on Niyaz, Homey. Azam Ali’s voice is filling my imagination with new images. I’ve been captured for hours at Carman Rizzo’s music page, which features many of her songs as well as very interesting range of the genre. I have been enjoying the Stumbleupon toolbar way too much lately at the expense of the main blog. Shout out to the millions of fellow Stumblers who find and share the most interesting content in every subject imaginable. It is refreshing to get beyond political subjects and wander in the fields of human creativity.

    Is this the siren song? Have I become a Lotus Eater? I can’t remember.

  4. homeyra said, on February 16, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    Lotus Eater 🙂 this Rizzo music page is wonderful. Have also added the link and can’t stop listening. So far I like Doute, Dilruba … slow download over here.

  5. musicalchef said, on February 19, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I have this CD; it’s really good!

  6. Monte said, on February 20, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Came across this link today, that includes some surprising (to me – blush) Persian artworks: Asian Art

  7. homeyra said, on February 21, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Time we hear some of your music, … chef 🙂
    Thanks for the link Monte!

  8. robo said, on February 25, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Noqte Has a good post about:
    http://noqte.com/blogs/blog.php?code=246

  9. homeyra said, on February 25, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Indeed Robo, thanks, I will add the link.


Leave a Reply

