Forever Under Construction

5 Years

Posted in Iraq by homeyra on March 19, 2008

5 years of blood and tears by Last of Iraqis:

“On March 20th, 2003 The siren woke me up, it’s the war, I hate that sound more than anything else, I ran downstairs from my bedroom to see what’s on TV, we had a satellite receiver at that time although it was illegal to have one.

My family and I were switching channels when the first missiles hit Baghdad, I saw it on TV at the same moment, it was horrifying and heart breaking, it’s true that we have been throw two wars before, it’s true that I lived all my life except for two years in wars or in its consequences but this one was different, it was different before it even started, this time Iraq will either be occupied or will endure many years in wars and then it will be occupied…” read more

blogswarm.jpg
Robert Fisk: The only lesson we ever learn is that we never learn
“Five years on, and still we have not learnt. With each anniversary, the steps crumble beneath our feet, the stones ever more cracked, the sand ever finer. Five years of catastrophe in Iraq and I think of Churchill, who in the end called Palestine a “hell-disaster”.
But we have used these parallels before and they have drifted away in the Tigris breeze. Iraq is swamped in blood. Yet what is the state of our remorse? Why, we will have a public inquiry – but not yet! If only inadequacy was our only sin…” read more
March 19: A call of repentance for the sin of war by Monte
meanwhile in Sacramento : Marking the 5th anniversary of Shock & Awe
6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. نق نقو said, on March 20, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Dear Homeira,
    Norroz Mobarak
    Peace on Earth

  2. homeyra said, on March 20, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Thanks dear Neghneghoo
    Same to you and … Peace on Earth

  3. honestpoet said, on March 20, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Hi Homeyra, I hope you are well.

    My husband has been reading to me from a book you might find interesting, full of horrors committed by my own government. (See my blog for more.) It’s heartbreaking, realizing we are the bad guys. (I knew it already, but knowing the details is worse.) It’s a horrible feeling, to understand that my way of life is built on the suffering of so many. What are we to do? All I can think is to continue to raise my voice while at the same time trying to protect my children from the monsters in office.

    Peace on Earth is what we need to work for, but we’ve got a very long way to go, and it’s never going to happen until Americans wake up to the fact that our government has always been a pack of thieves and liars.

  4. homeyra said, on March 20, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    Honestpoet
    This is very intense.
    All those who are concerned about peace and justice have a bond together.
    Thank you, it takes a lot to say this.

  5. The Pagan Sphinx said, on March 20, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Dear Homeyra,
    Thank you for the link to the post 5 Years of Blood And Tears. Words fail me. So powerful, so moving and so hopeful.

    I hope you are doing well.

    Peace,
    Pagan Sphinx

  6. homeyra said, on March 21, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Thanks Pagan Sphinx … the credit goes to the writer, he as many poignant posts.
    I – we – used to believe in a general good will to reduce human suffering, but now one has serious doubts.
    The world was watching the Buddha being demolished in Afghanistan, but over a million death and so many other calamities doesn’t seem to create a massive indignation. Is it only a “marketing” problem?


Leave a Reply

