Forever Under Construction

The Blueprint

Posted in Education, History by homeyra on May 3, 2008

Why this isn’t taught in schools?

After reading the history of the Germany in early 30s, “Italy in the ’20s, Russia in the ’30s, East Germany in the ’50s, Czechoslovakia in the ’60s, Pinochet’s coup in Chile in ’73, the crushing of the democracy movement in China at the end of the ’80s“, American author, Naomi Wolf says ” that there is a blueprint that would-be dictators always do the same ten things, whether they’re on the left or the right […]”

  1. Invoke a terrifying internal and external enemy.
  2. Create secret prisons where torture takes place.
  3. Develop a thug caste or paramilitary force not answerable to citizens.
  4. Set up an internal surveillance system.
  5. Harass citizens’ groups.
  6. Engage in arbitrary detention.
  7. Target key individuals.
  8. Control the press.
  9. Treat all political dissents as traitors.
  10. Suspend the rule of law.

In this article in The Guardian, the author develops her idea with a focus on her homeland although the model is universal.

Related posts at 99

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 99 said, on May 3, 2008 at 4:56 am

    I have the book at home. Naomi rocks! I wish, I wish, I wish they taught this stuff in schools… elementary schools. What a wonderful world it would be!

  2. 99 said, on May 3, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Oh! I forgot to add that I have a whole Naomi category at my blog. There are some good videos of her speaking about these ten points… for those who can view them anyway…. 😦

    Maybe Agent BB2 will get loose enough on Merlot tonight to copy one onto something viewable my more people… though they’re pretty long….

    xoxoxox

  3. 99 said, on May 3, 2008 at 5:05 am

    Oops… had a couple drinks out at dinner with my parents tonight! You already have that link….

    Duh. 😛

  4. 99 said, on May 3, 2008 at 5:10 am

    No… well… you better us MY link instead of the one in your post because it returns more related posts. I don’t use people’s names in my posts very reliably….

    http://neufneuf.blogspot.com/search/label/naomi%20wolf

  5. homeyra said, on May 3, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Thanks 99, I did correct the link.

  6. Linda said, on May 4, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    This seems to be on a lot of progressive bloggers’ minds right now. I posted a piece on it as well, and included a link to what I think is Naomi’s best talk re fascism in America.
    http://goodgirlroxie.blogspot.com/2008/05/end-of-america-letter-of-warning-to.html

    Being the eternal optimist, I try to see the silver in the storm cloud’s lining, and in the case of Clinton’s completely reckless and uncalled-for “public obliteration” statement, what I hope will come out of it is collective outrage over a major democratic party candidate’s shocking lack of commitment to peaceful (or heated) negotiations, no matter what.

    I wrote a piece about that horrific Clinton comment the day after she made it, and sent it to Pierre Tristam to post on his blog, but he hasn’t yet, and I’m unsure why, as he usually posts what I send to him.

    Here’s the link to it, if you’re interested.
    http://goodgirlroxie.blogspot.com/2008/04/sen-clintons-policy-of-total.html

  7. homeyra said, on May 4, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Thanks Linda, I visit regularly your blog and I have read both posts.
    I am an optimism in the sense that I believe we have what it takes to address problems and do good. In the other hand there is so much “perceived” interests at stake for some, and we have witnessed that absolutely nothing beside their perception matters and all casualties are acceptable… One easily becomes a pessimist with these facts.
    I should add that the above blue print was implemented more than once in this area and it has been almost a recurring scenario since the fall of the Ottoman empire.

  8. Linda said, on May 4, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Re: “I believe we have what it takes to address problems and do good” vs. “there is so much “perceived” interests at stake for some, and we have witnessed that absolutely nothing beside their perception matters and all casualties are acceptable”

    Just keep visualizing the first reality. This is the age-old conflict between good and evil, what every single religion on the face of the planet tries to address. I am convinced that our lives are about how we face this conflict, and not necessarily what ultimately comes about in our lifetimes. However, even though what ultimately comes about is not so critical to our spiritual growth/collective spiritual evolution, as how we face it is, we must, nonetheless, visualize that which we want.

    And I’m not even a religious person, so there.

  9. homeyra said, on May 4, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Wise words Linda.
    I used to define myself as “pessimistic but in a good mood” – no need to spoil the day to others – strongly believing in wonderful possibilities – to be missed again! 🙂

  10. musicalchef said, on May 5, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    That’s really scary!; err, interesting! I’ve got a feeling things aren’t going to improve no matter how the elections go, but I hope I’m wrong of course.

  11. Bluebear2 said, on May 8, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Well, here I am at lunch break. Having closed down AutoCAD and shoved a pile of blueprints to the side so I could come here, what do I find?

    Blueprints! Eaghhhhh!

    Plus a mission assignment from Agent 99!

    Some break!

  12. Bluebear2 said, on May 8, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Wow – where did that icon I got come from?

  13. homeyra said, on May 9, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Mucicalchef, me too, I’ll be more than happy to be wrong.
    Lol BB2:) let me try this :hi:
    Wordpress assigns icons now.

  14. 99 said, on May 11, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    …much more colorful….

  15. Bluebear2 said, on May 12, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Hey, I’m supposed to have the blue!

  16. 99 said, on May 13, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Indeed, and I the green. Do we contact wordpress and complain? It used to put my dodo up automatically but now it’s pissy about having to be logged in before you can have your avatar.

    I’m revolting! 😛


Leave a Reply

