Forever Under Construction

Forgotten

Posted in Iraq by homeyra on March 15, 2009

Yesterday at odd early hours of the morning I saw Pain, pétrole et corruption a documentary by Denis Poncet and Rémy Burkel (in French) investigating the scandals of the Oil for Food Programme .

This movie includes testimonies of the worthy Hans von Sponeck – responsible for all UN operations in Iraq who resigned in February 2000 in protest of the international policy – also Naomi Klein and Paul Volcker among others.

Only half of the $64 billion  of Iraq’s oil revenue returned to the Iraqis as food, medicines …  and what happened to the rest? This is the pre-Bush era. The member states of the UN Security Council set up this McMafia style looting of Iraq.

Highly recommended, you can watch it here.

sponeckdifferent

See also  A different king of war by H. C. von Sponeck

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. boogiwoogi said, on March 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Hi Humeyra,
    I didn’t watch it but I can feel what has gone to Iraq during those days. As I myself have experienced the war (I’m from Abadan the city destroyed by Iraqis) I have a double feeling on war in iraq. In one hand I can not feel pitty for Iraqi people as I remember what they did to my beautiful city and all my memory I left there. In anaother hand I can not tolerate any war for anybody even if they are Iraqis as I know what is going on to them.
    Looking the situation of war in Iraq I have a complicated feeling again. before American attack them, Saddam was the dictator ruling there. Every one knows what went to the people during those times of dictatorship. Now that dictatorship is destroyed but the country is captured by a foreign army. I myself can not say which one is better as both of them can be the worst situation one can experience.
    But at the end I have to say that I can not tolerate any war for anyone. The only thing which is exciting me is the question “Is reason and rationality has faced dead end that people have come to the point giving all the power to the crazy people?”

  2. homeyra said, on March 16, 2009 at 6:09 am

    Hi Boogi
    Being from Abadan gives you an unique perspective and I understand your mixed feelings. I am a Tehrani, and I was a student in Europe. Tehran wasn’t like a war zone when I visited during those days.
    What’s the Iraqi people have suffered and still are is unacceptable and the same forces which maintained and dealt with Saddam are still in command although they have lost a lot of their credibility.

  3. 99 said, on March 16, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Would that I could understand French better than a tiny baby!

    I like your way better, but I think it’s supposed to be “$64 billion”….

    xoxoxox

  4. homeyra said, on March 16, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Thx 99🙂 Corrected.


Leave a Reply

