Forever Under Construction

We are half of Iran’s population

Posted in Activism, Elections, Iran, Women by homeyra on June 7, 2009

A very interesting project undertaken by the internationally and critically acclaimed Iranian film director and screenwriter Rakhshan Bani Etemad:
All four candidates of the upcoming Iranian presidential elections are invited to see a movie documenting gender discriminatory laws as well as precise demands as expressed by women activists from various organizations.
After seeing the movie, each of the candidates are asked to explain their future programs regarding these issues. Mr. Karoobi, Moussavi and Rezai took part in this project.
This documentary relate the whole event including the three presidential candidates reactions.


Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5
رخشان بنی‌اعتماد اولین فیلم مستند انتخاباتی را کلید‌ زد/گزارشی تازه ار فیلم‌های انتخاباتی نامزدهای انتخابات؛
ما نیمی از جمعیت ایران هستیم

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pedestrian said, on June 8, 2009 at 5:39 am

    This was an awesome project.
    But do you know if this is only available to those Iranians with internet access?

  2. homeyra said, on June 8, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Somewhere in the movie it is written that they intend to distribute widely this movie. I imagine that the activists will show it every where possible and distribute CD’s.
    My guess is that they must have approached the national TV, AN could make up to them by making its national broadcast possible.

  3. Pedestrian said, on June 8, 2009 at 6:23 am

    I would hope that Iranian TV would broadcast something like this. But I doubt it😦
    You think they might?

    I saw Ahmadinejad’s second promotional video today. It made me sick to my stomach.

  4. homeyra said, on June 8, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Maybe after the elections depending of who gets elected.
    I saw the promotional video last night, but I haven’t seen the first.
    He has something that all other candidate lack: that “killer instinct“: strong will and drive to win. A pity that this does not go together with some other qualities.

  5. boogiwoogi said, on June 8, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Yes, and Homeyra, I think the only thing he has is just that instinct and nothing else🙂

  6. homeyra said, on June 8, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Hi boogi🙂 I was thinking of you when I posted this.
    Some time ago you had a post wondering what activist women really want. Here is the answer🙂

  7. Pedestrian said, on June 8, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    What really made me sick to my stomach (literally) was the part with the young girl (the daughter of the martyr). It always makes me sick when I see the war dead being used like that. It was such an extremely vicious scene (“vaghih o darideh”).

    I just saw Mousavi’s second film. This guy can’t do better than average. Although I know they were short on time.

  8. homeyra said, on June 9, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    You know P, the debates were all about trivial stuff. Some behaved better than the others! You know what I mean🙂 but there was no real discussion.
    Maybe just a beginning for this kind of debates. But people are in the street till 3 am.

  9. Amanda said, on June 18, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Is there an English version of the videos? or the text? How can I understand if I don’t speak farsi?… Thank you!

  10. homeyra said, on June 18, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Not sure Amanda. Try google, maybe you’ll find websites with an English discussion of the movie.


Leave a Reply

